page-template-default,page,page-id-16091,bridge-core-2.1.3,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-20.0,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2,vc_responsive,elementor-default


Where can I find your SEC disclosure information?

As an firm registered with the SEC we are required to provide certain information.  All of this information is available to the public online here

Standard Fee Schedule

Fees for investment management services are calculated as a percentage of assets under management.  Fees are billed quarterly and in advance on the following fee Schedule:


If multiple accounts are managed for the same relationship, the fee will be calculated on a combined basis

Does BCM have custody of my assets?

BCM never has custody of your assets. We work with well known institutions such as Charles Schwab & Co, Union Bank of California and Morgan Stanley to hold your assets. You authorize BCM to trade on your behalf in these accounts.

What is the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Designation?

A CFA certificate is one of the highest awards bestowed in the investment industry, and is an internationally recognized and respected designation. Furthermore, to receive the Chartered Financial Analyst designation, the organization which administers the program, the CFA Institute (formerly known as AIMR – the Association for Investment Managementand Research) also requires an adherence to certain ethical standards and principles.   The coursework for the program is generally considered to be “master’s level” and typically requires several hundred hours of study time per level. The failure rate for the level one exam remains around 66%, or nearly two-thirds. As of the beginning of 2016, there fewer than 120,000 people worldwide had earned the CFA credential.   To use the Chartered Financial Analyst designation, an individual must first have a bachelor’s degree and three years of practical experience in the investment industry. He or she must then pass a series of three, six-hour examinations. Passing these rigorous tests requires a comprehensive understanding of accounting, economics, and portfolio management, as well as successful demonstration of a high level of proficiency in the valuation and analysis of both equityand fixed-income securities.

What is the Certified Financial Planner (CFP) Designation?

Certified Financial Planner (CFP) is a professional designation attained by a person who has successfully completed the requirements of the Certified Financial Planner Board. The CFP is a respected designation that denotes a person is a competent, professional and ethicalfinancial planner. CFPs must adhere to a code of ethics and professional responsibility, and every applicant must pass a background check before obtaining his or her designation. To become a CFP, an individual must first fulfill an investment-education requirement. This can be done by either completing a CFP Board-sponsored education program, or by obtaining certain other degrees or professional credentials, such as a:

  • Certified Public Accountant license
  • License to practice law
  • Chartered Financial Analyst designation
  • Ph.D. in business or economics
  • Chartered Financial Consultant designation
  • or a Chartered Life Underwriter designation.

The individual must then pass the CFP examination: a three-session, 10-hour exam.  In addition to the education and examination requirements, the individual must have at least three years of full-time work experience in financial planning, as well as a bachelor’s degree.

The CFP is largely a domestic designation, although its more than 70,000 designees live in dozens of countries. The CFP Board is actively working to internationalize the credential through the development of foreign training programs.